Thruxton @ a Track School

Ok, ok, I know, this jack-ass never posts! Besides being busy, I’m just flat out lazy.

So if you have never been to a race school/track day, I would highly recommend it. Riding on a track is the most fun you can have on a motorcycle. I went on friday and I still feel high from going that fast. Now I’m not the best rider, but I’m certainly not the worst. For the bikes I ride I feel pretty fast.

For my birthday, my wife asked me what I wanted. I told her I wanted a Race/Track school. She said Ok, and I instantly called my buddy Sander to see if he wanted to go. He was pumped, as he had never ridden on a track either. I was reading Keith Codes book “A Twist of the Wrist” so I thought his school would be rad. Sander said a few people he knows suggested the Reg Pridmore school. An old AMA/FIM guy that is fast as shit. We decided on that one, as Keith Code seems a bit over analytical and we both felt like we would be lost at his school. Plus Reg (I feel like I can call him Reg after taking his class) has raced just about every machine under the sun, so he would be familiar with the style of bikes we would be bringing to the track. The track we went to is Willows Springs “Big Track”.

There was a fair amount of prep on the bike before we went, and new tires were a must. I won’t go into the full details, but I would highly suggest getting new tires if your tires are less than 90%. Don’t lie to yourself. It doesn’t seem worth it. Oh and don’t forget the extra gas. Did I say get new tires yet? Get ’em! The Avon Road Riders are bad ass. I love these tires. Here’s a couple pics before we left.

Thruxton Cup, Triumph

I wish I could ride it everyday with no lights or license plate.

Rad!

 

 So with the bikes all loaded we drive up the night before.

This is the first time my bike has been in the back of a truck.

The day starts at 7am, and we didn’t want to wake up at 3 in the morning to drive there. I’m nervous and excited about the day to come. I’m not sure what to expect. Am I gonna be the slow guy? Maybe I should have opted for the intermediate class instead of the beginners class. Is my bike going to be fast enough? 

It’s a long drive. 3 1/2 hours from Whales Vagina. Anywho, we finally get to our Motel. This place is nice and cheap. Good security, a pool, and breakfast in the morning. I would recommend this place, and it’s only 15 minutes to the track.

Finally I can get some sleep. Not that I can sleep, more that I am stoked to be out of the truck.

 
The morning can’t come soon enough. We went to sleep at 1am and woke up at 5:30am. That’s rough. I feel like a hundred bucks. Must have coffee stat. I gotta take a shit. 
 

We driving and I can see the track.  It’s intimidating as all hell.

Willow!

Pit Lane

I’d like to take a minute to talk about Reg. He’s fuckin’ rad. He’s an older ticker, that has seen more tracks, more races, more crashes, more anything to do with motorbike racing than anyone I have ever met. And he is really an approachable dude. Good disposition. The school is run by him and his wife GiGi. As a married dude myself, I can say they are truly inspirational together. They seem genuinely happy.

Cheers Mate!

If you want to learn how to ride better on the track or the street, this is your guy. At any level, he can teach you something. He’s patient, and isn’t worried about pointing out flaws. He main thing is safety. I could go on and on, but I don’t want to seem like a brown-noser.

I dont want to talk about the class really, other than I went there with a plan. To become a more efficient rider. By the end of the day I felt safer, smarter, more confident, and rode faster than I have ever ridden before. I went on Friday. It’s Tuesday, and I still have a smile on my face! Thanks Reg, GiGi, all the Phils (I think there were 3 or 4 there) Instructor Ted and FNG for helping me become a better rider. I will never forget my experience. Oh yeah. One last thing. I went in the dirt once, and because of the things I learned in this class, I was able to keep it on 2 wheels at about 90 mph or so and bring her back on the pavement.

These are some random pics from the day, as well as a couple of track pics. I hope you enjoi!

First thing in the morning.

  

Reg is big on reading your tires. I never really thought about that before. Mine are saying "No chicken strips bitches!"

 
 
 

Go Ted, go!

Sander’s pics are awesome.

Gettin it!

Dude! Your bike is bitchen.

The only thing missing from the day was Mike and the rest of the “Dudes”.

After the day was over we loaded up the truck and waited around for the traffic to die down. Reg and GiGi were hanging out by their rig, so Sander and I hung out with them for about an hour. Reflecting on the day, and excited about days to come.

Thank you Baby, for making my birthday kick more ass than a donkey farm! You are my life.

1 Comment

  1. lovin’ goldy. she’s a beaut. keep rockin’, teddy.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

